werthliving.com


Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Disco's Dragon Age: Origins Review

  1. #1
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Disco's Dragon Age: Origins Review

    werthliving.com



    Platforms- PS3, XBOX 360, and PC

    Genre- Role Playing Game






    Dragon Age:Origins is RPG fans delight. Since I was just a wee boy this has always been my favorite genre. I love to play a game that drives me to see what happens next in the story, not just because there is another level to be played. Unfortunately in recent years the story has fallen by the way side in the RPG world. It has been taken over by scavenging, sloppy first person shooter RPG's like Fallout 3 and Oblivion, yes I'm no fan of Bethesda's work.
    One company that has kept the "Story" alive is Bioware. Truly the masters of the american style RPG. And Dragon age is one of their best pieces of work yet.

    DA:O is the story of the land of Ferelden, and it's invasion by the evil Darkspawn (think orcs and goblins fromm LOTR). Creatures believed to be created by God smiting mankind's attempt to usurp heaven. The Darkspawn normally live below the surface and do not come out, but every couple hundred years they do, and they cover the land in a blight and the people of Ferelden must fight them back. The elite group of fighters known as Grey Wardens are the best chance the land of Ferelden has of stopping the blight. And you will ultimately find yourself part of this elite group.

    In Tolkien fashion you have Humans, Dwarves and the Elven citizens of the land. Bioware takes a slightly different path on the background of these classics though. Human's....well they are humans, pompous, arrogant and vile in most cases. Of course there are good ones around too though. Dwarves live below the surface constantly in fear of the Darkspawn, and only their outcasts ever go to the surface. The Elven live in run down ghetto's in human cities, and act as servants for wealthy human lords, though some live in the wild as outlaws.

    The "Origins" in the game title refer's to the fact that you will start as one of these three races, and see their origin to becoming a Grey Warden. Your origin story will be based upon what kind of character you choose to play as. Each one of these origins lasts around 2 hours, if you play each of these you could easily have 10 hours into gameplay before you even start the main quest.

    When your not out smiting Darkspawn you will be faced with many many many situations where the decisions you make will greatly effect the story. I don't want to give anything away, but the things you do, the choices you make will affect you, your companions, and the world around you.

    Verdict

    If you are a fan of the RPG, a fan of being sucked into a games story then go out and buy Dragon Age: Origins now, you will be pleased. Bioware has crafted a living and breathing world that you will not want to leave. If your not a fan of the RPG this game will not change your opinion. If you are a gamer that thinks you might want to try an RPG out for the first time I highly recommend you pick up Mass Effect.



    Presentation:

    Bioware has created a world here not just a game. Complete with more lore and story beyond the main quest than you may be able to handle. The world of Ferelden and its denizens are wonderfuly realized. And are very rewarding if you put the time into learning about the world. The menu system can be a bit of a pain to navigate at times, as is your inventory, but these things did not take away from the fun

    9.5


    Graphics

    Here is where the game will not be very appealing to many. DA:O started development nearly 5 years ago and it shows. DA:O looks better on the PS3 than the 360, but those better textures are at the cost of frame rate in some areas. You will not be super impressed with the graphics in this game, but they get the job done. I purchased and played the game on the PS3, I borrowed a friends 360 copy to see the difference. It played slightly smoother on 360, but didn't look as crisp. Either system will get the job done, so pick your copy based on preference.

    7.0


    Sound

    In general the score for DA:O is solid. There aren't any truly memorable tunes here for you though. The hack and slash sound effects are pretty traditional fare. Sword clangs, armor clangs...blah blah. Voice acting is top notch and really brings the characters to life.

    8.0


    Gameplay

    This is first and foremost an action RPG. You can run in and only control your main player character and do just fine. You set up tactics to control the rest of your people, or you can micro manage each and every ability and member of your party. It's up to you.

    9.0


    Replayability

    One thing you can't say about DA:O is that you didn't get your money's worth. I spent 63 hours on my first play through. Thats a whole lot of game time. And also the reason my first review for HDJ took so long. With such a long and involving game, plus more DLC to come to further your hours spend in Ferelden you could be playing this all year.

    10


    Final Score 8.7







    Last edited by Disco Batman; 01-16-2010 at 10:55 AM.
    I own some stuff.

  2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Disco Batman For This Useful Post:

    AxGates (01-15-2010), bravestime (01-15-2010), BUYLONGTERM (01-19-2010), davidjschenk (01-15-2010), War Eagle (01-15-2010)

  3. #2
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Sorry for it taking so long for me to through this review up, game took a lot of time. Uncharted 2 review will be coming soon, should be up by Jan 18th. I will take requests for game reviews as well.
    I own some stuff.

  4. #3
    HDJ Platinum Club Member War Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Atlanta
    Age
    42
    Posts
    7,914
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 145 Times in 134 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Great review Disco.

    I have one suggestion, how about somewhere before the review making a list that shows a few things like...
    platform
    genre
    ESRB game rating
    etc.........

    Just a thought, good review though!!

  5. #4
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by War Eagle View Post
    Great review Disco.

    I have one suggestion, how about somewhere before the review making a list that shows a few things like...
    platform
    genre
    ESRB game rating
    etc.........

    Just a thought, good review though!!
    ADDED!

    No problem, I will surely add information that people would like to see in the review.
    I own some stuff.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Disco Batman For This Useful Post:

    War Eagle (01-15-2010)

  7. #5
    FATHER TIMELESS ImRizzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    The Eastern End of Long Island NY
    Age
    75
    Posts
    30,561
    Thanks
    608
    Thanked 1,747 Times in 1,462 Posts
    Rep Power
    42

    Default

    I'm not a gamer but, that a great review, Thx
    Sent from my Fisher Price touch&talk~using ITouchmyself II
    LG OLED 55B6P ~SonyXBR929~Oppo UDP203~Denon 3311~Mirage V2 SPK-SYS w/ S10 SW~ DVP5000~Harmony1100
    Cablevision Optimum via Scientific Atlantic 8300HDDVR

  8. #6
    Administrator|Owner
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 143 Times in 93 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I'm going to create an HDJ OFFICIAL GAMING REVIEW FORUM and move this in there. Until we get more people to help out with gaming reviews, it will be disco's forum for now.

    Congrats DISCO!!!!

  9. #7
    Super Moderator bravestime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,301
    Thanks
    521
    Thanked 1,443 Times in 1,105 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Not a real gamer here, but nice review Disco.


    Living Room: Pioneer KRP-500M, Denon AVR-1911, Sony BDP-S1000ES, Sony PS3, Logitech Harmony One
    5.2 Definitive Technology Audio System
    (4) Definitive Technology 1000 Speakers, Definitive Technology 2000 ProCenter, (2) Definitive Technology Super Cube III
    Bedroom: Sony 46XBR2, Onkyo TX-SR705, Sony BDP-S550, Logitech Harmony H659

  10. #8
    HDJ Platinum Club Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    8,847
    Thanks
    1,338
    Thanked 1,586 Times in 907 Posts
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Excellent job, Disco. Thank you very much for doing it!

    Yours,

    David

  11. #9
    Miley's #1 Penetrator AxGates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Center for troubled female youth
    Posts
    4,087
    Thanks
    422
    Thanked 490 Times in 399 Posts
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Another non-gamer here. My friend is addicted to this game hardcore. Awesome review Disco!!!!
    My Music Page
    Follow Ax on Twitter

    Do not disassemble, No 5. Alive!!!!
    Live Long and Phosphor.... Ax is a PIMP!! Quote the War never more ....


    Toshiba 40RV525R: F/W: 036
    Panasonic DMP-BD60: F/W: 2.5
    Dish Network ViP211k
    Sony HT-DDW740 HTIB
    Monoprice Cables

  12. #10
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Thanks for the kind words guys. I'll keep working on these reviews and make em better and better. I'll try to keep things simple and not too in depth since I know a lot of people here aren't hardcore gamers.

    And yes this is an AMAZING game. In the top 5 of 2009 for me
    I own some stuff.

  13. #11
    HD, the only way to go... House72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8,357
    Thanks
    208
    Thanked 385 Times in 331 Posts
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    What system did you play this on?? I think you should add that in there as well. Never mind read it. Add some more details in your review if you could. Not to much to reveal spoilers, but a little more meat would be nice..

    Good job though.. I'm a gamer, but not too hardcore. I have 8 unopened games here that I got to get to yet.. lol
    PSN= Foreniscs80..

  14. #12
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by House72 View Post
    What system did you play this on?? I think you should add that in there as well. Never mind read it. Add some more details in your review if you could. Not to much to reveal spoilers, but a little more meat would be nice..

    Good job though.. I'm a gamer, but not too hardcore. I have 8 unopened games here that I got to get to yet.. lol

    No problem House, I'll go in tonight or tomorrow morning and add more meat to the review. General story outline and whatnot.

    I feel you on the unopened games man. I still haven't touched a few I can't wait to get to.
    I own some stuff.

  15. #13
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    More meat added.
    I own some stuff.

  16. #14
    HDJ Platinum Club Member War Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Atlanta
    Age
    42
    Posts
    7,914
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 145 Times in 134 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Keeps gettin' better!!

  17. #15
    HD, the only way to go... House72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8,357
    Thanks
    208
    Thanked 385 Times in 331 Posts
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Disco Batman View Post
    More meat added.
    Very Nice.. I like what you added.. It's great that you tell the person(Us) what the idea of the game is, as well as, what other objectives there are.. Great Job..
    PSN= Foreniscs80..

  18. #16
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default


    Just played through the Dragon Age:2 Demo. It's fantastic, Bioware has really improved upon the original game in every way.

    It's worth a download and a little of your time. Game comes out March 8th.
    I own some stuff.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •