werthliving.com


Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Disco's Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Review

  1. #1
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Disco's Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Review

    werthliving.com



    Platforms- XBOX 360, PS3 and PC

    Genre- First Person Shooter

    Reviewed on XBOX 360



    Seldom has the hype for a video game been as high as it was for Modern Warfare 2. The last games I can remember that rivaled it's level of hype was Halo 3, and its predecessor Halo 2. MW2 launched November 10 2009 and sold approximately 4.7 million copies in its first 24 hours across the globe.



    Most FPS's are broken into Single Player or "Campaign" modes, co-op, and multiplayer. The single player campaign in MW2 is short, just like the first MW. So my first bit of advice is, if you have no intention on playing this game online DO NOT BUY IT. Just give it a rent, the single player story mode will only take you around 5-6 hours to complete. It's a fun and intense 5 hours, that just does't warrant a purchase for that one aspect. The story pics up shortly after the events of COD4:MW, and will be quickly familiar to those that played through the first game. It's a pretty standard Tom Clancy esque future war narrative. You will pound through levels as the story takes place around you, via chatter from team mates, scripted action scenes and load screens. It's a heart pumping adventure, not necessarily due to epic storytelling but epic action. If your looking for a moving story, go pick up Mass Effect 2, and read Ntruder's great review while your at it. Now I did say not to buy this game if your only interested in the single player mode, but if your into online multiplayer go BUY THIS GAME NOW. First you have the cooperative SPEC OPS mode. I haven't had the time to sink a great deal of time into, but the little I did was fun and addictive. The competitive multiplayer is an extension of the first games excellent online play. In traditional sequel fashion everything has been made bigger, stronger and faster. You still have class based play. Still have the ability to choose your weapons and special customizable perks to make a online character that plays how you want. Multiple game modes to keep things fresh, and a seemingly never ending amount of customization.

    Verdict

    It is an incredibly deep experience that will have you shooting people in the face for months on end. Modern Warfare 2 gets my highest recommendation, rent it if you don't play online. Buy it if you do.



    Presentation

    Menu system is clean and works well. Single player too short for most people, and not as well done as Infinity Ward's previous efforts.

    8.0

    Graphics

    It's no Uncharted 2 or Mass Effect 2. But those games don't have the sheer amount of mayhem going on in each and every scene. Runs perfectly smooth at all times, despite players, explosions and other top notch effects.

    9.5

    Sound

    You may scare the neighbors if your playing this loud of a good surround system. Nothing like hearing someone trying to sneak up behind you in an online match.

    10

    Gameplay

    Smooth FPS play, great aiming, spot on controls.

    9.5

    Replayability

    Spec Ops mode and Multiplayer will have you coming back for months. And for those who enjoy a hard single player experience you have your work cut out for you if you wish.

    10

    Final Score- 9.4



    I own some stuff.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Disco Batman For This Useful Post:

    bravestime (02-28-2010)

  3. #2
    HD, the only way to go... House72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8,357
    Thanks
    208
    Thanked 385 Times in 331 Posts
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    I heard this game is very short, 4-5 hours gameplay.. I know it's mostly for MP, but that's short for a game..
    PSN= Foreniscs80..

  4. #3
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by House72 View Post
    I heard this game is very short, 4-5 hours gameplay.. I know it's mostly for MP, but that's short for a game..
    I talk about that in the review.
    I own some stuff.

  5. #4
    HDJ Platinum Club Member War Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Atlanta
    Age
    42
    Posts
    7,914
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 145 Times in 134 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Run around like Flash Gordon and stab people......oh yeah, you can use guns too!!!!

  6. #5
    Recreational Alcohol User Ntruder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Southern Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,707
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 413 Times in 303 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Its like 6-8 hours if you have balls and play on Veteran or Hardcore. The multiplayer pissed me off. Its basically an expansion of COD4. A few new guns, rearranged unlock order, and new maps. Otherwise, aside from a few tweaks, the game is unchanged, mechanically and technically
    Panasonic 65" VT60

  7. #6
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ntruder View Post
    Its like 6-8 hours if you have balls and play on Veteran or Hardcore. The multiplayer pissed me off. Its basically an expansion of COD4. A few new guns, rearranged unlock order, and new maps. Otherwise, aside from a few tweaks, the game is unchanged, mechanically and technically

    I understand them expanding multiplayer vice revamping it pissing you off. Personally I'm happy that's all they did. For me it didn't need to be re-done, look what they did with Halo 3. They revamped from Halo 2 and made a far inferior online experience. I've never been a huge Halo fan, but many of my friends were, and after a few house Halo 3 parties Halo 2 quickly replaced it. Hopefully Halo: Reach will bring back the fun. So for me I'm happy, if it ain't broke don't fix it.
    I own some stuff.

  8. #7
    Recreational Alcohol User Ntruder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Southern Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,707
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 413 Times in 303 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Disco Batman View Post
    I understand them expanding multiplayer vice revamping it pissing you off. Personally I'm happy that's all they did. For me it didn't need to be re-done, look what they did with Halo 3. They revamped from Halo 2 and made a far inferior online experience. I've never been a huge Halo fan, but many of my friends were, and after a few house Halo 3 parties Halo 2 quickly replaced it. Hopefully Halo: Reach will bring back the fun. So for me I'm happy, if it ain't broke don't fix it.
    Yeah but I got bored with COD4 after a year; I got sick of the gameplay formula... Every game just became an exact repeat of something I've already done a million times. So when MW2 came out, I was already sick of the gameplay. The new maps and weapons were good for a month or so, but I quickly got bored. Plus, I really don't care for the decentralized maps.

    I'm back to playing H3 online again. I can't dominate every game like I could in Halo 2, but its still fun.
    Panasonic 65" VT60

  9. #8
    Super Moderator bravestime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,301
    Thanks
    521
    Thanked 1,443 Times in 1,105 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Default


    Nice review Disco.


    Living Room: Pioneer KRP-500M, Denon AVR-1911, Sony BDP-S1000ES, Sony PS3, Logitech Harmony One
    5.2 Definitive Technology Audio System
    (4) Definitive Technology 1000 Speakers, Definitive Technology 2000 ProCenter, (2) Definitive Technology Super Cube III
    Bedroom: Sony 46XBR2, Onkyo TX-SR705, Sony BDP-S550, Logitech Harmony H659

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •