werthliving.com


Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Disco's God of War: Collection Review

  1. #1
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Disco's God of War: Collection Review

    werthliving.com



    Platform- PS3

    Genre- Action Adventure

    Reviewed on PS3



    I had not originally planned to play the GOW: Collection. I had already played these games during the height of the PS2. GOW was orginally released in 2005 with the sequel following in 2007. In this PS3 collection you get both of those games, remastered in 720p. You are not only getting HD remakes of two of the best games of the previous generation. These games remain some of the best of this generation with the HD bump. And well worth the 29.99 you can pick it up on Amazon for right now. http://www.amazon.com/God-War-Collec...1966673&sr=8-1

    And yes I've purchased it for myself now.



    O.K. Guys it's really pretty simple here. Have you played GOW and GOW2? Do you plan on playing GOW3? If your answers were a No and Yes respectively simply go pick this up. NOW! I'm not going to go through the hell of actually reviewing both games. Yes I'm taking the easy way out. I'm being lazy.

    You are Kratos, you are pissed and you are powerful. You like big epic crazy battles. You make Peter Jackson's LOTR battles look like a three year old playing with little green army men. You love the ladies, you make Ron Jeremy look like the 40 year old virgin. And you just flat out like killing shit. Your a bad man. And your after Olympus, you'd think the gods would learn about giving mortals such power.


    Verdict

    I just really can't give any higher recommendation. Guys go play these games, and then jump right in and hit God of War 3. This is simply one of the most amazing and premier franchises in video game history. Don't miss out on it.

    Presentation

    The story of both games are high quality and if your a greek mythology fan you will eat it up. Cutscenes are a bit dated.

    8.0

    Graphics

    They may be HD, but these are still PS2 games. Thankfully they run smooth as a baby's ass.

    8.0

    Sound

    Quality voice acting. Score reminiscent of big epic hollywood films. Great sound effects.

    9.5

    Gameplay

    Beautifully violent. Spot on controls, puzzles mixed in to break up never ending combat. Perfect from start to finish.

    10

    Replayability

    At least one play through....20 hours. It may warrant another for fans.

    9.0

    Final Score

    8.9

    I own some stuff.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Disco Batman For This Useful Post:

    GLOW (04-22-2010), War Eagle (04-22-2010)

  3. #2
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,590
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 898 Times in 739 Posts
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Great review. I never had a PS2 so I bought this disc. Awesome, just awesome. As soon as I finish GOW2 I will play GOW 3.
    Last edited by mytime; 04-22-2010 at 04:15 PM.
    L2W you will be missed.

  4. #3
    HDJ Platinum Club Member War Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Atlanta
    Age
    42
    Posts
    7,914
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 145 Times in 134 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Nice Review, I seriously need to get these games and see what they are all about.

  5. #4
    HDJ Platinum Club Member GLOW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    The Midwest Coast
    Posts
    866
    Thanks
    94
    Thanked 94 Times in 71 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Nice review. I highly recommend this collection too. My only complaint about the first two GOWs is that the puzzles can break up the pacing of the game. Other than that they are top notch action platformers. When you guys get around to playing GOW3, you'll see the puzzles are well integrated into the game... no pacing problems at all.

  6. #5
    HDJ Platinum Club Member GLOW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    The Midwest Coast
    Posts
    866
    Thanks
    94
    Thanked 94 Times in 71 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by War Eagle View Post
    Nice Review, I seriously need to get these games and see what they are all about.
    If you like action games, you can't really beat the GOW games. Highly recommend.

  7. #6
    Recreational Alcohol User Ntruder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Southern Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,707
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 413 Times in 303 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GLOW View Post
    If you like action games, you can't really beat the GOW games. Highly recommend.
    I want to play them for the sole purpose of seeing if they can top the Ninja Gaiden franchise.

    I kinda doubt it, considering Ninja Gaiden's extreme skill requirement, and the added dynamic that it adds to the games. GOW seemed like more of a button masher. Beating Ninja Gaiden on normal your first time was a monumental task. Master Ninja can still only be done by a small group of elite players
    Panasonic 65" VT60

  8. #7
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    182
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ntruder View Post
    I want to play them for the sole purpose of seeing if they can top the Ninja Gaiden franchise.

    I kinda doubt it, considering Ninja Gaiden's extreme skill requirement, and the added dynamic that it adds to the games. GOW seemed like more of a button masher. Beating Ninja Gaiden on normal your first time was a monumental task. Master Ninja can still only be done by a small group of elite players
    Yeah..no. They're two totally different styles of game. GoW you are empowered to kill everything. Ninja Gaiden it's the other way around!

  9. #8
    HDJ Platinum Club Member GLOW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    The Midwest Coast
    Posts
    866
    Thanks
    94
    Thanked 94 Times in 71 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ntruder View Post
    I want to play them for the sole purpose of seeing if they can top the Ninja Gaiden franchise.

    I kinda doubt it, considering Ninja Gaiden's extreme skill requirement, and the added dynamic that it adds to the games. GOW seemed like more of a button masher. Beating Ninja Gaiden on normal your first time was a monumental task. Master Ninja can still only be done by a small group of elite players
    LOL, no you don't understand. In this game you grab your enemies, lift them above your head, and rip them in half. It would take some skill to beat it on Chaos Mode I imagine though!

  10. #9
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,590
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 898 Times in 739 Posts
    Rep Power
    23

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by GLOW View Post
    LOL, no you don't understand. In this game you grab your enemies, lift them above your head, and rip them in half.
    YES! YES! One of things I thoroughly enjoyed about this game.
    L2W you will be missed.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •