werthliving.com


Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Disco's Heavy Rain Review

  1. #1
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Disco's Heavy Rain Review

    werthliving.com

    Heavy Rain



    PS3

    Have you played Heavy Rain yet? If the answer to that question is no, then go out and pick this game up. You are in for something that is unlike anything you've ever played before. Developer Quantic Dream, has created not just a game, but an interactive movie. Full of top notch produciton, film like camera work, wonderful voice acting, and digital characters that act better than most the work in the theater right now.

    To tell you much about the story would really just ruin the game, so you won't get any spoilers from me here. I will give you a brief description though. Heavy Rain is about a serial killer, named the Origami Killer (he leaves origami at the scene of the crime). You will control 4 main characters who are all intertwined with the killer in one way or the other. Ethan Mars, a father who is down and out and questions his own sanity. Madison Page a journalist fighting insomnia. Scott Shelby a cop turned private detective investigating the murders on behalf of the victims families. And Norman Jayden an FBI Agent sent in to help the locals on the investigation.

    What you are playing here isn't a game in the truest sense, at least not what you are used to. Your not Kratos swinging swords of vengence, or a QB trying to complete a pass. You are an actor, you play out the story through sequences of button presses, or motions on the right analog stick. There isn't a right and wrong way of doing things either. If you mess up a part you don't start over till you get it right. The story continues on, and there are multiple paths the story can take based upon your decisions. This lends itself to multiple endings, and if you choose multiple play throughs to see how everything could have gone. Thankfully you are given an option of starting any chapter from the beginning if you want to see the other options you don't have to start from scratch.

    And trust me you won't want to, because the game does start slowly....very slowly. It's a necessary build up, it's required for character growth and setting up the urgency with which the rest of the story plays out. If you find yourself bored in the beginning stick with it, the payoff is worth the slow start.

    Story and Presentation

    Fantastic film noir'ish story that will keep you glued and wanting to know what's next. This could easily have been something you watched in the theater by any top notch director. The games oozes atmosphere and style.

    9.5

    Graphics

    The environment around you doesn't look as good as your characters. But the character models and facial animations will make you feel.

    9.0

    Sound

    Voice acting is top notch for the most part, couple of weak moments here and there. The soundtrack is hollywood quality all the way.

    9.0

    Gameplay and Mechanics

    Controls may take some getting used to at first, but it's serviceable. Get ready to hold buttons and your controller in ways your never have.

    9.0

    Longevity

    I think my play through took me about 10 hours. There is plenty more to see if you want to experience different endings.

    9.0

    Verdict

    Heavy Rain is unlike anything you've ever gotten your hands on. If you give it a chance you are really in for a treat. It's a wonderful change of pace in the shooter dominated game market. If you own a PS3 you are truly doing yourself a disservice if you don't pick this game up. Buy it, rent it, or at least download the demo from the Playstation Network.

    9.1





    I own some stuff.

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Disco Batman For This Useful Post:

    GLOW (08-02-2010), mytime (08-02-2010)

  3. #2
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,590
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 898 Times in 739 Posts
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Thanks Disco. I'm going to download the demo and give it a spin.
    L2W you will be missed.

  4. #3
    HDJ Platinum Club Member War Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Atlanta
    Age
    42
    Posts
    7,914
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 145 Times in 134 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    The demo really doesn't do the game justice. I've played it twice and got 2 different endings, but it's crazy how every choice you make changes the outcome. I don't think you notice how much you have an effect on the story until you play it a second time.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to War Eagle For This Useful Post:

    mytime (08-02-2010)

  6. #4
    HDJ Platinum Club Member GLOW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    The Midwest Coast
    Posts
    866
    Thanks
    94
    Thanked 94 Times in 71 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I haven't played this yet but I will eventually, I loved the demo... the atmosphere was so great. Heavy Rain will have Move support this fall and I imagine the controls will be easier to grasp and probably more interesting with it. Whether or not I end up buying into Move is the question.

  7. #5
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    It's a hell of a game and a really original experience.
    I own some stuff.

  8. #6
    HDJ Platinum Club Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    8,847
    Thanks
    1,338
    Thanked 1,586 Times in 907 Posts
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Very, very thorough and well-written review, Disco Batman. Kudos.

    Yours,

    David

  9. #7
    Recreational Alcohol User Ntruder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Southern Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,707
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 413 Times in 303 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    I didn't see any mention of boobs in your review; a key aspect of Heavy Rain. Quite the oversight Disco...
    Panasonic 65" VT60

  10. #8
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ntruder View Post
    I didn't see any mention of boobs in your review; a key aspect of Heavy Rain. Quite the oversight Disco...
    LOL. I saw boobs with the choices I made!
    I own some stuff.

  11. #9
    HDJ Platinum Club Member War Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Atlanta
    Age
    42
    Posts
    7,914
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 145 Times in 134 Posts
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ntruder View Post
    I didn't see any mention of boobs in your review; a key aspect of Heavy Rain. Quite the oversight Disco...
    Yes.....a picture for reference purposes would have been nice too!

  12. #10
    ADMIN|OWNER BUYLONGTERM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    548
    Thanked 673 Times in 381 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Great review. I played the demo and loved it. Never got around to getting the full version, but seems like I will. THANKS!!!!
    R.I.P. Loves2Watch
    DISPLAYS
    Pioneer Elite Pro151FD
    Pioneer Kuro 5020FD
    Samsung LN4065F
    Panasonic TC-P65VT60
    Panasonic TC-P55GT50

    CAMERA GEAR
    Canon 5D III
    35L 1.4
    70-200L 2.8 IS MK II
    100L Macro 2.8 IS
    Speedlite 580 EX II
    Website: (Still under construction)

    Instagram FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAM

  13. #11
    Beer Me SOBAY310's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    6,668
    Thanks
    296
    Thanked 150 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    I also loved the demo and my broke ass is waiting for a big price drop before I pick it up. I'm sure it's worth the $60 though.

    Another nice review, Disco!

  14. #12
    Administrator CC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6,412
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 380 Times in 339 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Loved the Demo and I'm sold on the game after the review. Thanks Disco!!!
    RIP STEVEN 12/26/2013

  15. #13
    Recreational Alcohol User Ntruder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Southern Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,707
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 413 Times in 303 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    I would say this game is a rental, not a purchase, because its really not all that fun, so once you're through it, you don't need to go through the whole thing again unless you want to see different endings, in which case you can choose to replay missions. I can't really see myself going through this game again... but that's just my opinion
    Panasonic 65" VT60

  16. #14
    Beer Me SOBAY310's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    6,668
    Thanks
    296
    Thanked 150 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Ntruder, since you are done with it, do you want to trade it to me in exchange for a Green Bay Packer Bobblehead? :D

  17. #15
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SOBAY310 View Post
    Ntruder, since you are done with it, do you want to trade it to me in exchange for a Green Bay Packer Bobblehead? :D
    I have a Brett Favre signed football he may want.
    I own some stuff.

  18. #16
    Beer Me SOBAY310's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    6,668
    Thanks
    296
    Thanked 150 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Disco Batman View Post
    I have a Brett Favre signed football he may want.
    Me might take it just to put a bomb in it and throw it on the field of the metrodome.

  19. #17
    Recreational Alcohol User Ntruder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Southern Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,707
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 413 Times in 303 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SOBAY310 View Post
    Ntruder, since you are done with it, do you want to trade it to me in exchange for a Green Bay Packer Bobblehead? :D
    I borrowed the game from a friend and no longer have it.
    Panasonic 65" VT60

  20. #18
    Recreational Alcohol User Ntruder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Southern Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,707
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 413 Times in 303 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by Disco Batman View Post
    I have a Brett Favre signed football he may want.
    Meh. Brett kinda burned some bridges if you know what I mean.


    Quote Originally Posted by SOBAY310 View Post
    Me might take it just to put a bomb in it and throw it on the field of the metrodome.
    Didn't you hear? He retired again. So I might not have to hate Favre anymore.
    Panasonic 65" VT60

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •