werthliving.com


Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: XBOX 360 Slim Review

  1. #1
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default XBOX 360 Slim Review

    werthliving.com

    XBOX 360 Slim Review




    SLIM! Well not really. The new XBOX only clocks in at 17% smaller than the previous unit so if your expecting to save a ton of room in your rack you won't be.

    Pros:

    Slightly smaller
    HDMI output
    Built in Optical Audio
    Built in Kinect Port
    More USB
    Quieter (though not immensely, DVD drive still makes quite a bit of noise)
    Better Cooling (or so they say)
    No more Red Ring of Death (only because they got rid of that indication, this console can still fail)
    Smaller power brick.
    Built in Wireless N

    Cons:

    Piano Finish is extremely finger print happy
    Proprietary Hard Drive (can't upgrade with any normal 2.5 inch SATA drive)
    Touch control for DVD operation not lit, hard to find in darkness.
    DVD drive still feels cheap when ejecting or inserting disks
    Updated controller still has horrible D-Pad. This was fixed for Euro models, not for the U.S.
    Unproven reliability


    Verdict:

    There is absolutely no reason to " upgrade" to this new XBox if you already have one with an HDMI port. The console is marginally quieter, instead of a 747, its now a Cessna. The console still operates the same, it's not faster or anything. If your not an owner already this is obviously the way to go. If your interested in Kinect you can buy a bundle cheaper than buying the parts separate. Only time will tell if the new design is more reliable than the previous systems, which are well known for their high failure rate.

    I had no desire to purchase a new 360 after #5 failed, but bought this due to the wishes of the kids and lady who wanted Kinect. Is Kinect worth it? That's coming next.
    Last edited by Disco Batman; 01-18-2011 at 09:42 AM.
    I own some stuff.

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Disco Batman For This Useful Post:

    davidjschenk (01-17-2011), gadgtfreek (01-17-2011), mytime (01-18-2011)

  3. #2
    Administrator CC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6,412
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 380 Times in 339 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    One of the biggest pros for me would be the built in wireless N.
    RIP STEVEN 12/26/2013

  4. #3
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CC View Post
    One of the biggest pros for me would be the built in wireless N.
    Hey! I got a comment! I will agree with you CC, I didn't even think about adding it to the review since I have my hard wired. Adding that to Pro's now.
    I own some stuff.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,590
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 898 Times in 739 Posts
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    So it's loud huh? Thinking of getting a 360 so how does it compare with the noise a PS3 makes? Louder? The same?
    L2W you will be missed.

  6. #5
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mytime View Post
    So it's loud huh? Thinking of getting a 360 so how does it compare with the noise a PS3 makes? Louder? The same?
    I would say it's equal to my launch day PS3. It's in no way distracting if you listen to your TV at normal volumes.

    The original Xbox 360 on the other hand was a loud mofo.
    I own some stuff.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Disco Batman For This Useful Post:

    mytime (01-18-2011)

  8. #6
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,590
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 898 Times in 739 Posts
    Rep Power
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Disco Batman View Post
    I would say it's equal to my launch day PS3. It's in no way distracting if you listen to your TV at normal volumes.

    The original Xbox 360 on the other hand was a loud mofo.
    I was about to edit my post. My old fat 40g could be heard. My slim? Haven't heard it yet. Ty Disco.
    L2W you will be missed.

  9. #7
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mchenry, Il
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: XBOX 360 Slim Review

    Very interesting review, but dead wrong and very, very misleading. I just purchased the new slim 3 weeks ago, and it is head and shoulders above my 2 old black 120 GB.. 1.) My old 120's are very noisy, and especially if I had not loaded the game to the hard drive, very loud in general. The slim is about 85% quieter, almost whisper quiet@times 2.) My old 120's were so sloooow when it came to access the in system Zune, ESPN, and Netflix catlogs, and took at least 1-3 minutes to start the movies when streaming--(I have 18MB internet connection, hard wired to the consoles). The new slim takes anywhere from 10-30 seconds to start the movie, music video, tv show... 3.) Finding the touch control for the dvd works 100 times better than the old ( the old was a physical, mechanical button that had to be push, and it was never lit.) The new slim only requires you to touch in the general area and it opens. 4.) The new slim is 24% smaller than my old 120GB's

    So if you are in the market for a 360, the slim is the ONLY way to go--it out shines the old in every aspect, from looks to performance

    Almost forgot
    1.) Slim has the new 65 nano chip, which has increased the speed greatly, and dose not run as hot, as the old chip set
    2.) A new reconfig of the heat sheild, fan placement has also cooled the system greatly..
    3.) Since I have switched to the Black elite 360's, (my old 120GB's), and now new slim. I've never had the red ring.

    I have been a Hardcore Gamer since the Intellivison gaming systems era. (I go even farther back, playing and getting pong system when it 1st came out) I currently own, and collect gaming systems. And I still play every system made from old to current gen.

    Remember All reviews should be UNBIAS, plain and simple, and provide TRUE FACTS--regardless if the reviewer is a PS3, pc, or 360 fanboy

  10. #8
    Imperial Archivist planetary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    268
    Thanked 369 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    8

    Default Re: XBOX 360 Slim Review

    I bought a Slim on the week it was launched, mainly for the noise reduction. I've been happy with it.

    The slim seems to have faster load times, and the main menus are a tad zippier, but it's nothing I'd write home about. Certainly, game performance doesn't seem significantly better, which is where it counts.

    At this point, here at the end of 2011, PC gaming for the enthusiast is actually quite attractive, because the 360 and PS3 are in the declining years of their life-cycles: something that's quite evident in this year's crop of games. Core graphics performance just isn't that substantively better than it was 1 or 2 years ago. Uncharted 3, not much better than Uncharted 2. Modern Warfare 3, same story. Gears 3, same story. Battlefield 3... ok, that's a fair bit better.
    Video: Panasonic 65VT30 (FBR patched)
    Audio (incoming): Denon 3313, Aperion Verus Grand {Towers, Center, Bookshelves}, SVS PB12-NSD

  11. #9
    HDJ Platinum Club Member Disco Batman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,093
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 572 Times in 430 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default Re: XBOX 360 Slim Review


    Quote Originally Posted by Insanity 911 View Post
    Very interesting review, but dead wrong and very, very misleading. I just purchased the new slim 3 weeks ago, and it is head and shoulders above my 2 old black 120 GB.. 1.) My old 120's are very noisy, and especially if I had not loaded the game to the hard drive, very loud in general. The slim is about 85% quieter, almost whisper quiet@times 2.) My old 120's were so sloooow when it came to access the in system Zune, ESPN, and Netflix catlogs, and took at least 1-3 minutes to start the movies when streaming--(I have 18MB internet connection, hard wired to the consoles). The new slim takes anywhere from 10-30 seconds to start the movie, music video, tv show... 3.) Finding the touch control for the dvd works 100 times better than the old ( the old was a physical, mechanical button that had to be push, and it was never lit.) The new slim only requires you to touch in the general area and it opens. 4.) The new slim is 24% smaller than my old 120GB's

    So if you are in the market for a 360, the slim is the ONLY way to go--it out shines the old in every aspect, from looks to performance

    Almost forgot
    1.) Slim has the new 65 nano chip, which has increased the speed greatly, and dose not run as hot, as the old chip set
    2.) A new reconfig of the heat sheild, fan placement has also cooled the system greatly..
    3.) Since I have switched to the Black elite 360's, (my old 120GB's), and now new slim. I've never had the red ring.

    I have been a Hardcore Gamer since the Intellivison gaming systems era. (I go even farther back, playing and getting pong system when it 1st came out) I currently own, and collect gaming systems. And I still play every system made from old to current gen.

    Remember All reviews should be UNBIAS, plain and simple, and provide TRUE FACTS--regardless if the reviewer is a PS3, pc, or 360 fanboy
    Thanks for insinuating my review was biased and false. Your post reeks of fanboy ranting. Thanks for reading!

    I'll go ahead and assume your just some clown that is trolling and wants to spin me up since this is your second post. Congrats on being an adult.
    I own some stuff.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •