werthliving.com


Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 166

Thread: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

  1. #21
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    werthliving.com

    Interesting. I always liked a company who designs what they want, and hires someone respectable in the industry to build it for them.

  2. #22
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    So for those curious, here is the “rest of the story” about Snell and Outlaw:

    When we decided to include speakers in our product line we conducted an industry-wide search for the ideal manufacturer who could build to our exacting specifications. While there were several great candidates, we settled on Snell because they shared philosophically so much of what we were looking for - uncompromised components, attention to detail, proper voicing, and an overall attitude to work with us on something that we could be proud of in an overcrowded speaker market. Their close proximity allowed us to react to changes in the crossover in “real time” as opposed to back and forth shipping, an added bonus.

    Our bookshelf speaker is close to one of the models in their line, but ‘improved’ with a new upgraded driver , and the inclusion of our proprietary two-stage boundary compensation. They liked our changes and planned on including this circuit in future updates of their own model.

    As for the LCR, we presented them with the idea for a speaker that could be optimized for either vertical or horizontal orientation (three equal speakers across the front with the center channel being horizontal). At first the Snell engineers were skeptical it could be done. However, they decided to give it a shot. The ultimate result was a spectacular speaker that received an award from Sound and Vision Magazine. Ironically, our friends at Snell asked us if they could license our idea for their own LCR. We agreed, and that model was planned as a replacement for their current offering.

    Snell’s announcement last week caught us, and all of the Snell people, totally off guard. We have since had two meetings with them and are discussing ways that we can keep these speakers in production by moving them to an alternate facility. Everything is fluid at this moment however so no finalized plan is ready.

    Our recent sale of the Outlaw speakers went so well that we are nearly sold out. With no prior knowledge of what was about to happen, we began to reschedule our orders for more immediate delivery. As you can imagine, that is now a big challenge.

    What has happened at Snell is very sad for them, their dealers, and their customers. We are hoping that someone will resurrect the company. Unfortunately, this situation is a sign of the times.

    For those of you with Outlaw speakers, we will of course stand behind your purchase, and will service them going forward. If Snell does not come back, you all own some remarkable collector’s items. In a sea of competing speakers, they are indeed that good. Now you know why.
    http://ubb.outlawaudio.com/ubbthread...t&Number=83346


    So, with that, they are still selling speakers. Did someone buy Snell and continue the process? Edit: Looks like Snell and Boston Acoustics were combined in the same factory.

  3. #23
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    If you look on Snell's product page, I think the LCR7, K7 and J7 are the outlaw designs.

    http://www.snellacoustics.com/Produc...omSpeakers.asp

  4. #24
    Super Moderator vläd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.W. Desert USA
    Posts
    6,406
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 943 Times in 734 Posts
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    I have an Outlaw 7700 and have never had any issues with it, other than lifting or moving it.
    ______

    "Oxymoron of the day: Reality TV"

    Avatar of the week: Justified 4th Season

  5. #25
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    Whew, 7x200w, you be jammin!

  6. #26
    HDJ Platinum Club Member AVJeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lewiston, ME, Concord NH
    Posts
    1,513
    Thanks
    623
    Thanked 341 Times in 267 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    I have been looking at Outlaw for years and I am still waiting on their Pre/pro before I decide. Their amps were about the only other I considered but just did not have the funds at the time. In the future though who knows. So far I am happy though with the Emo.

  7. #27
    Super Moderator vläd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.W. Desert USA
    Posts
    6,406
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 943 Times in 734 Posts
    Rep Power
    16

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    I gave up on waiting for Outlaw's Pre/Pro, and went with the Onkyo. Marantz has a good pre/pro as well, the Outlaws had a decent sale on it for Black Friday for $1299 if memory serves.
    ______

    "Oxymoron of the day: Reality TV"

    Avatar of the week: Justified 4th Season

  8. #28
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    AV7005.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to gadgtfreek For This Useful Post:

    Hi Resolution (11-28-2011)

  10. #29
    HDJ Platinum Club Member AVJeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lewiston, ME, Concord NH
    Posts
    1,513
    Thanks
    623
    Thanked 341 Times in 267 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    Yeah the AV7005 looks like a winner too. I am wondering what Emotiva is going to replace theirs with? Only thing that stopped me from that one was the lack of sophisticated room correction. I hope they address it in the next one.

  11. #30
    Administrator CALIBER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Olympia Washington
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks
    1,225
    Thanked 525 Times in 434 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    I know when the speakers first came out L2W raved about them, I haven't heard them my self as they are bit difficult to find, but I remember him saying they were terrific for the money.
    Magnepan, B&K, Emotiva, HSU

  12. #31
    HDJ Platinum Club Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,683
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 482 Times in 413 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    The only reason to go with a balanced (XLR) connection is if you have a situation where interference (induced hum, RFI) is a problem or you have ground-loop issues, or where you can't afford to have to deal with them on the fly. This is why balanced connections are standard in pro audio. Otherwise, unbalanced is simpler and offers a slightly lower native noise floor than an otherwise equivalent balanced setup. Very, very few home systems actually need or benefit from balanced connections.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to MDRiggs For This Useful Post:

    AVJeff (12-06-2011)

  14. #32
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi Resolution View Post
    A closer look:



    EMO upa-7
    125watts X 7 @ .1% THD
    850 VA power supply
    90,000 cap supply
    damping- unknown
    4 outputs per channel

    Outlaw 7125
    125 watts X 7 @ .05% THD (Bench tests have shown this amp to deliver 140+ watts per channel without clipping)
    1.6 KVA power supply
    140,000 cap supply
    damping- 400
    6 outputs per channel

    Back from the dead. Since everyone basically told me to get my head out of my ass and look at amps, instead of playing in the kiddie pool with AVR's. Vlad didn't help my sending me links to ebay for used amps!

    I read the Home Theater Mag testing quoted above, where the 7125 actually put out 140wpc on the bench. I have a few considerations, when looking at the EMO XPA-3/5 and the 7125:


    • Since I like my Klipsch, and they arent going anywhere, I feel 125wpc is plenty for me
    • Size; I really need something smaller than the EMO XPA, and the Outlaw is perfect
    • Outlaw is $300 more; Whether it's worth it from a quality standpoint, who knows. But they are made in the USA by a reputable company (not to say Emo isnt reputable, because they are)
    • The Outlaw is power for the future, at 7 channels, which means I do not need another amp (as I add more speakers they will continue to be the efficient Klipsch)
    • There is an Adcom in this range, but just reading random comments, seems the Emo or Outlaw is just as good or better




    Here are all the test results from HTM:

    Measurements
    All measurements were taken on the left channel except as noted. Measured power output results are to the nearest Watt.

    The Outlaw Model 7125's frequency response from input to the speaker out measured –0.16dB at 10Hz, -0.04dB at 20Hz, -0.24dB at 20kHz, and -1.11dB at 50kHz.

    The S/N (A-weighted, 2.83V into 8Ω from 10Hz-24kHz) measured –114.03dB. Gain measured 28.98dB.

    THD+noise at 2.83V into 8Ω measured 0.005% at 20Hz, 0.013% at 1kHz, and 0.004% at 20kHz.

    THD+noise at 2.83V into 4Ω measured 0.009% at 20Hz, 0.015% at 1kHz, and 0.007% at 20kHz.

    Driving all seven channels into 8Ω, the Outlaw delivered 140Wpc at 20Hz and 142Wpc at 1kHz (to the nearest watt) before clipping (1% THD+noise). The 12-amp main power fuse failed during the 20Hz test and was replaced by a 15-amp fuse (not recommended or necessary for normal operation) for the remainder of the tests. Into 4Ω, all channels driven, the amp clipped at 205Wpc at 20Hz and 225Wpc at 1kHz.

    With two channels operating at 1kHz, the Outlaw clipped at 189Wpc into 8Ω and 269Wpc into 4Ω.
    So as we stand, Im seriously considering a 7125 with my Marantz as the pre/pro. If im gonna do this I have to have it setup by 10/19, because thats my calibration date. I figure if I feel the need for a pre/pro only later, I can add it 10-12 months from now when the calibrator comes back in town.

    So whats everyone think? 125+ wpc for the 98db sensitivity Klipsch speakers?

    The UPA700 new amp from Emo is sized right, and half the cost, but it's lower on power at 80wpc.

  15. #33
    HDJ Platinum Club Member AVJeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lewiston, ME, Concord NH
    Posts
    1,513
    Thanks
    623
    Thanked 341 Times in 267 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    It's a good amp for sure and not a bad price at $999 for 7 channels of honest clean power. However, don't get so hung up on the Klipsch being efficient stuff. That is all well and good but it just means it takes less power to drive them louder. Klipsch like all speakers still benefit from extra headroom and the sonic qualities that go along with that. At 899 I think the XPA-5 is more bang for the buck but if you need the seven channels then the Outlaw is the best option. The outlaw is certainly more amp than the new smaller 7 channel Emo. Personally I would go with the XPA-5 and let the receiver do the surround back channels. Take the extra hundred and save it for a rainy day. Does Outlaw have free shipping? Emo does.

  16. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AVJeff For This Useful Post:

    CALIBER (09-23-2012), gadgtfreek (09-23-2012)

  17. #34
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    Thanks, all good points. I think Outlaw charges shipping. I also get what you are saying on headroom, and while Im not sure about these Reference II series speakers, it has been stated that some of them when driven hard go into more of a 4ohm load. I think a dedicated amp will really make these speakers more interesting.

    On the THD, is 0.10% vs 0.05% anything you can technically hear? They both have a 5 year warranty.

  18. #35
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    Another question. Can I expect the same amount of amp draw from these amps, as say my sub amp. I realize it would be more, but when I checked the real time usage of my sub, it was less than one amp. These HT amps arn't going to pull some ridiculous amount are they?

  19. #36
    HDJ Platinum Club Member AVJeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lewiston, ME, Concord NH
    Posts
    1,513
    Thanks
    623
    Thanked 341 Times in 267 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    Quote Originally Posted by Jason Whiddon View Post
    Thanks, all good points. I think Outlaw charges shipping. I also get what you are saying on headroom, and while Im not sure about these Reference II series speakers, it has been stated that some of them when driven hard go into more of a 4ohm load. I think a dedicated amp will really make these speakers more interesting.

    On the THD, is 0.10% vs 0.05% anything you can technically hear? They both have a 5 year warranty.
    The short answer to that is No! You will never hear that. By time you reach that level of getting the amp to distort you ears will be bleeding and you will have drove your woofer cones right out of their baskets and they will be lying on the floor smoldering. You then will be going down to your closest Miracle Ear dealer and will be fitted for hearing aides.

    And for its worth I dont put much stock in Stereophile reviews but here you go anyway.

    http://www.stereophile.com/content/music-round-51

    You would be happy with either amp but as I said I think The XPA-5 is more amp for less money.

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to AVJeff For This Useful Post:

    gadgtfreek (09-23-2012)

  21. #37
    HDJ Platinum Club Member AVJeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lewiston, ME, Concord NH
    Posts
    1,513
    Thanks
    623
    Thanked 341 Times in 267 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    Quote Originally Posted by Jason Whiddon View Post
    Another question. Can I expect the same amount of amp draw from these amps, as say my sub amp. I realize it would be more, but when I checked the real time usage of my sub, it was less than one amp. These HT amps arn't going to pull some ridiculous amount are they?
    No, but if you have a dedicated line on another breaker so it wont share with the sub amp that would be better. I have three dedicated 20amp lines in my little closet.

  22. #38
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    Here is some 7125 porn since they dont offer it up on their site:








  23. The Following User Says Thank You to gadgtfreek For This Useful Post:

    AVJeff (09-23-2012)

  24. #39
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed

    Quote Originally Posted by AVJeff View Post
    No, but if you have a dedicated line on another breaker so it wont share with the sub amp that would be better. I have three dedicated 20amp lines in my little closet.
    Thanks, Im stuck there. Hopefully it doesnt suck much juice since Im taking the AVR out of the equation power wise. When we build, ill def be doing separate circuits.

  25. #40
    Casual HD User
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: Outlaw Audio Model 7125 Seven Channel Amplifier Reviewed


    I ran the Outlaw 970/7125 for years until I just couldn't deal with the 970's obsolete connections. I currently am using the Onkyo 818 which is a fantastic receiver, but I can tell you that I enjoyed and prefer the Outlaw sound more. As soon as Outlaw produces another Pre/Pro I will be going back to an Outlaw setup.

    With respect to amp draw, the Outlaw setup drew less than the Onkyo setup does.

  26. The Following User Says Thank You to HStevens For This Useful Post:

    gadgtfreek (09-23-2012)

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •