werthliving.com


Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

  1. #1
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    werthliving.com

    Bit pricey...

    PRICE $6,145
    AT A GLANCE
    Plus
    Advanced driver designs
    Fine-grained, transparent, dynamic playback
    Compact but powerful subwoofer
    Minus
    Boxy, non-curved enclosures

    THE VERDICT
    Paradigm’s Prestige series speakers and Seismic 110 sub employ unusual driver design to achieve remarkable transparency and punch.

    http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...-system-review


  2. #2
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,589
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 898 Times in 739 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Re: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    Yeah. Pricey indeed.
    L2W you will be missed.

  3. #3
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    Yeah, I mean I can do a Klipsch 5 channel system with the speakers I have now, + dual VTF15's for $6k. It would curb stomp that Paradigm system.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator GOS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Age
    54
    Posts
    30,130
    Thanks
    3,291
    Thanked 2,639 Times in 2,142 Posts
    Rep Power
    43

    Default Re: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    Quote Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
    Yeah, I mean I can do a Klipsch 5 channel system with the speakers I have now, + dual VTF15's for $6k. It would curb stomp that Paradigm system.
    Big time it would....
    Denon AVR-X4000 * Harmony ONE
    Klipsch RF-82 II front * RC3 center * RP3 surrounds * KEF HTS1001 rear
    Rythmik Audio DS1501 CI sub
    Oppo BDP-103
    Samsung LN46B550 LCD


  5. #5
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,589
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 898 Times in 739 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Re: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    I'm sure they sound great but after a certain price point don't you run into diminishing return ?
    Maybe some one can set me straight , but does a $2500 tower sound $1000 better then a $1500 tower?
    L2W you will be missed.

  6. #6
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    Audio is flooded with diminishing returns. Look at the preamp I have. Twice as much as an AVR with pre outs, and surely doesnt sound twice as better, if any.

    Same with speakers, which is why when people look for subs I suggest ID all the way because it is the best bang for the buck. I love Klipsch speakers, but if you were gonna spend $900 on a sub, why get a 15" Klipsch sub when you can get a 15" Hsu?

    Another good example is my new towers and center. I was able to get big discounts because they are close to a model change, but when you look at msrp it's wild.

    My old towers were $1400 for the set, and the 7ii's msrp for a pair is like $3400. Do they sound $2000 better? Hell no. But I got both for less than $2k, so it's a win because they do sound better.

    My old center was around $500, this new one is $1500. Sounds 3 times better? Hell no. But I got the center for $850

    For me, the best time to buy audio gear is at a model change. Look at Denon's, you can buy a current year $1500 Denon in Dec/Jan for $900, at end of life cycle. Same with speakers, the big issue with them is that they generally run several years before a model change.

    At this point, with my current gear, I'd have to spend new car prices to get improvements worth noting.

    I do understand why the MSRP is so much higher on certain things though, like my new speakers vs the smaller models. These are all built in Arkansas, and have more stout horns. I get that, and I love made in the USA, but everyone has a budget.

  7. #7
    HDJ Platinum Club Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,683
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 482 Times in 413 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    Quote Originally Posted by mytime View Post
    I'm sure they sound great but after a certain price point don't you run into diminishing return ?
    Maybe some one can set me straight , but does a $2500 tower sound $1000 better then a $1500 tower?
    Above a certain point, probably around a few hundred dollars for speakers, price and sound quality cease to correlate strongly. You can buy good modestly priced speakers and bad expensive speakers, just as you can buy bad modestly priced speakers and good expensive speakers. Historically, Paradigm speakers have been among the best in terms of sound quality, and years ago they used to have a lot of very reasonably priced models. My impression is that lately they've emphasized higher-priced models because that's what dealers need. The collapse of specialty audio retailing has really taken a toll on the value end of the market.

  8. #8
    FATHER TIMELESS ImRizzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    The Eastern End of Long Island NY
    Age
    74
    Posts
    30,556
    Thanks
    608
    Thanked 1,745 Times in 1,461 Posts
    Rep Power
    41

    Default Re: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    When I get each month's copy of Sight & Sound I check out the product reviews and am most times floored by those Esoteric Sound system speakers in the 20 to 25K neighborhood, seriously just how much better are they (like 18 to 20K better) ?? I really don't think I could justify a buy like that unless I'm sitting on limitless party funds.
    Sent from my Fisher Price touch&talk~using ITouchmyself II
    LG OLED 55B6P ~SonyXBR929~Oppo UDP203~Denon 3311~Mirage V2 SPK-SYS w/ S10 SW~ DVP5000~Harmony1100
    Cablevision Optimum via Scientific Atlantic 8300HDDVR

  9. #9
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,589
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 898 Times in 739 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    I'll never be one of those just because I don't have the funds. My system new could be had for under $2500. Of course I found deals here and there. While not the best in the world it outclasses most I come across in a real world basis. Sounds fine ( will upgrade speakers this year going Klipsch ) but I want to put the money where the biggest difference will be heard. IMO that would be the front soundstage.
    I've come a long way since my 1st HTIB.
    I look back at that clueless bastard and think ignorance really was bliss. Lol
    L2W you will be missed.

  10. #10
    HDJ Platinum Club Member gadgtfreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23,015
    Thanks
    1,628
    Thanked 3,043 Times in 2,360 Posts
    Rep Power
    33

    Default Re: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review

    I agree, I wasted so much $$$ on audio when I first started big in 2003.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator mytime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Jackson MO
    Posts
    10,589
    Thanks
    604
    Thanked 898 Times in 739 Posts
    Rep Power
    22

    Default Re: Paradigm Prestige 15B Speaker System Review


    Quote Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
    I agree, I wasted so much $$$ on audio when I first started big in 2003.
    It was when HD was making headway for me. Around 06, 07. New codecs ! Gotta have that! Lol
    L2W you will be missed.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •